Thame Swimming Club

Club Captains

Thame Swimming Club appoints club captains and club vice captains (representing the boy swimmers and the girl swimmers) each year at the time of the AGM. Their role is to represent the swimmers at relevant committee meetings; to represent the club at events (Thame Round Table Swimathon; Thame Carnival; Thame Rotary Santa’s Sleigh; TSC Aquathlon) and to help the coaches organize and motivate the swimmers at galas.

The club captains are chosen by the coaching team from swimmers in the County & District and the Performance training groups. The coaches select them on the basis of their commitment to the Club, training and competition as well as their attitude and maturity in dealing with the younger swimmers.

Each Captain and Vice-Captain serves for a period of 1 year. They stand down at the AGM and are either re-selected by the coaches or replaced with a new candidate.

ASA Guide for a Club Captain (download)


Boys Captain
Murray Wakefield

Girls Captain
Tally Simms

Boys Vice Captain
Benjamin Mould

Girls Vice Captain
Maya Camp

Club Captains since Thame Swimming Club was established in 2009

 Boys CaptainGirls CaptainBoys Vice CaptainGirls Vice Captain
2021-2022Murray WakefieldTally SimmsBenjamin MouldMaya Camp
2020-2021Matt EvansTally SimmsSam WhiteMaya Camp
2019-2020Matt EvansLucy BlockSam WhiteTally Simms
2018-2019Matt EvansLucy BlockSam WhiteTally Simms
2017-2018Marcus BirminghamElla SimmsHarry BlockMaisie Randall
2016-2017Ben WilliamsElla SimmsMarcus BirminghamMaisie Randall
2015-2016Ben WilliamsElla SimmsMarcus BirminghamLaura Nobes
2015Ben WilliamsAmy HaarburgerMarcus BirminghamElla Simms
(succeeded mid-year by those above)
Rory PriceRachel NewtonBen WilliamsRebecca Smith
2013-2014Rory PriceRachel NewtonBen WilliamsRebecca Smith
2012-2013Jamie GoetzRachel NewtonRory PriceBeth Jermey
2009-2012George FinchGeorgia CahillJamie GoetzOlivia Hawkes